You can allow users to see when their messages have been read in one-to-one conversations in Chat. When a new message is sent, as soon as the other chat participant opens the conversation an eye icon will appear underneath the message to signify it has been read.
Read receipts are disabled by default, and must be enabled for your organization in the Chat plugin settings.
- In the Studio, navigate to Content > Chat.
- Click the gear wheel to open the settings.
The Settings page opens.
- Enable the toggle Read Receipts.
- Click Save.
Users can now see read receipts in their chat messages. They can disable read receipts for their conversations in their individual user settings, learn more here.