Once you have set up a group identifier for an open group, users can be added as mandatory members to open groups and deleted with a simple CSV sync.
Imagine you want to promote transparency and engagement between office locations and decide make groups based on office location and departments accessible to all employees. How do you make sure employees in certain departments or based in a certain locations do not unsubscribe from content that is important from them?
All changes for individual users take place in the user CSV.
Setting a User as Mandatory in a Mandatory Group
A new coworker has joined the Marketing department at your company’s Dresden office. To add the new coworker as a mandatory member to the mandatory open groups for the Marketing department and the Dresden office group, the identifiers Marketing_id and Dresden_id have been placed in the column designated for open group identifiers.
Deleting a User from a Mandatory Group
The colleague from the Marketing department has left the Dresden office and now works remotely. You can remove this colleague from the mandatory group for Dresden by removing the Dresden_id identifier from the column designated for mandatory group identifiers. By only removing this tag, this colleague has only been removed from the location based mandatory group, but remains in the mandatory group for Marketing. The user, can now freely subscribe and unsubscribe from content in the Dresden group, the same way other non-mandatory users can. Leaving the cell empty in the column designated for mandatory groups will delete the user from all mandatory groups. Similarly, if a coworker leaves the organization, by deleting the user’s row, the user will be removed from the user group.
Using these examples, you can apply these methods on a broader scale and make changes to as many users as you want within the CSV. Perform a CSV sync and all of your changes will be updated simultaneously in your employee app. This means your mandatory user groups will be automatically updated to reflect the changes made in your user CSV.